2023 Green Awards

Keep the Midlands Beautiful thanks the following for their outstanding contributions to the community and for working closely with Keep the Midlands Beautiful to keep Lexington and Richland counties clean, green and beautiful.


Outstanding Educator of the Year

  • Angie Kruger, Beechwood Middle School


Outstanding Municipality of the Year

  • Town of Irmo
    • Whitt Cline, Director of Public Works
    • Barry Wallker, Mayor
    • Courtney Dennis, Town Administrator


Outstanding Large Business of the Year

  • CMC Recycling


Adopt-A-Highway Group of the Year - Richland County

  • Litter Warriors, Group Leader: Rebecca Murphy


Adopt-A-Highway Group of the Year - Lexington County

  • Governor's Grant, Group Leader: Suzette van der Westhuizen


Adopt-A-Street Group of the Year

  • Alpha Phi Alpha, Group Leader: Omar Armstrong


Adopt-A-Waterway Group of the Year

  • Friends of the Congaree Swamp, Group Leader: John Grego


Outstanding Non-Profit Organization of the Year

  • Sierra Club, Pamela Greenlaw


Outstanding Media Partner of the Year

  • Natural Awakenings, Editor: Anette Briggs